Global Engineering

Engineers find themselves at the heart of some of the world’s most complex problems. Their work impacts many different stakeholders across international lines. Furthermore, engineers have a fundamental duty to serve society. But does the current engineer embrace that complexity and understand the greater context of their work?

Industry requires engineers that can understand and interact effectively with several different players, both internally and externally. They need engineers with the tools to analyze relationships and the role they play within them. They need engineers that aren’t silo-ed in ivory towers, but instead are capable of participating in the greater decision-making process, by merging their technical knowledge with a systemic understanding.

The Global Engineer is such an engineer, and the Global Engineering Challenge is an opportunity to define it, put it into practice, and to showcase your company’s engineers as global, systemic thinkers, tackling some of the world’s most important problems.

EWB Montreal invites you to participate in our events to learn more about global engineering and share your vision of how the engineering profession can change.

In 2012, ISF Montreal organized the first global engineering challenge, more information on the challenge can be found on the following website: http://montreal.ewb.ca/gec .

The following year in 2013, we organized a full Global Engineering Conference which helped to give more visibility to the concept of global engineering. It was a success and we are hosting the next Global Engineering Conference in 2015 at the same time as the EWB National Conference in Montreal.

Comments are closed

Ingénierie Globale

Les ingénieurs se retrouvent au coeur de plusieurs problèmes mondiaux des plus complexes. Ils ont le devoir de servir la société et leur travail a un impact sur de nombreux acteurs différents que ce soit localement ou globalement. Toutefois, est-ce que l’ingénieur d’aujourd’hui comprend bien le contexte dans lequel s’insèrent ses projets et en assume-t-il la complexité?

L’industrie demande des ingénieurs qui puissent comprendre et interagir efficacement avec différents acteurs, tant internes qu’externes. Ils ont besoin d’ingénieurs qui possèdent les outils pour analyser les relations et leur rôle au sein de celles-ci. Ils ont besoin d’ingénieurs qui sont plutôt en mesure de participer à la prise de décisions plus larges, combinant leurs connaissances techniques avec une bonne compréhension systémique.

L’ingénieur global est ce type d’ingénieur; ISF se donne la mission de mieux le définir, de mettre le concept en application et de démontrer que les ingénieurs de votre compagnie sont des penseurs systémiques globaux qui s’attaquent à certains des problèmes mondiaux les plus importants.
ISF Montréal vous invite à participer à nos événements où vous en apprendrez plus sur le concept et la pratique de l’ingénierie globale.

En 2012, ISF Montréal a organisé le premier défi d’ingénierie globale, plus d’information sur ce défi peuvent être trouvé sur le site internet suivant : http://montreal.ewb.ca/gec.
L’année d’après en 2013, nous avons organisé le congrès d’ingénierie global ce qui a permis d’accorder encore plus de visibilité au concept d’ingénierie globale. Il a été un succès et nous sommes l’hôte de la prochaine congrès d’ingénierie global en 2015 en même temps que la Congrès nationale d’ISF.

 

Les commentaires sont clos.