EWB Montreal

Our Vision

Is to catalyze profound systemic innovations in engineering industry and in the engineering profession, changes that ensure they continuously fulfill their potential for positive impact on global society. To do so, we strive to be facilitators of a discussion around this concept: Global Engineering.

Our Objective

Is that, by 2014, Montreal is recognized as a Global Engineering leader across Canada, hosting Canada’s first National Global Engineering Conference – an opportunity for industry, professional associations, universities, non-governmental organisations, engineers and non-engineers to discuss which systemic innovations will and already are fundamentally changing the way things work in engineering industries for the better of global society.

Our Plan

In June 2012, EWB Montreal held the first Global Engineering Challenge, a competition between several industry and university teams to prototype systemic innovations in their own industry that empower engineers to ensure or increase their positive impact, with judges from industry, academia, politics and the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ). The results were remarkable: teams embraced the challenge and came up with creative ways of making their industry evolve, while the impressed judges agreed that opportunities like this are what the industry needs.

This year, EWB Montreal aims to grow the summer Global Engineering Challenge into a Provincial Global Engineering Conference, on the road to becoming a national conference in 2014. In order to do so, the chapter is focusing on three strategic priorities:

1. Investing heavily in the knowledge and capabilities of our most engaged members to develop them into credible ambassadors of Global Engineering, systemic thinking and EWB’s approach in Africa;

2. Building a strong and diverse community – a critical mass of conscious, caring and active global engineers and global citizens hundreds or thousands strong;

3. Establishing credibility with engineering industry and the professional engineering association (OIQ) and engaging with them about global engineering.

As a complement to these outcomes, EWB Montreal will be taking the first steps towards putting in place the Montreal City Network of EWB, a network bringing together not only the EWB chapters of Montreal, but also like-minded organisations, such as the OIQ, those promoting Fair Trade, those developing social entrepreneurship and all those fighting for social justice.

Previous Projects

Run to End Poverty

 Sunday, October 21, 2012, in association with Tour des 3 sommets Brébeuf

Run to End Poverty is a team of compassionate runners coming together for a common cause – to bring an end to extreme poverty in Africa. Since 2006, runners across Canada have run together to raise awareness about extreme poverty, and to build support for Engineers Without Borders’ (EWB) development efforts in Africa.

Run to End Poverty provides team members with the opportunity to train together, to learn together, and to race together within local high-profile running races. Through coaching and training workshops and weekly group runs, beginners can build a strong base while experienced runners can improve their abilities and aim for their personal best!

The Run to End Poverty team is unique in that each running event is partnered with a run in developing communities across Africa, where EWB is working hard to build local capacity and create positive change. Through this connection, Canadians can learn more about international development and the people whose lives are changed by organizations like Engineers Without Borders (Canada). By raising awareness through high-profile local races and through the people we touch during fundraising activities, we hope to build stronger support for Canadian international development initiatives.

Run to End Poverty was a huge success this year, with over 70 runners and more than $15,000 raised. You can still donate here. A big thank you to our photographer Pablo Herrera Cruz and his photography company Rikchak for the awesome photos of the event. Be sure not to miss out next year!

Global Engineering Challenge

June 15, 2012, Maison du Développement Durable

Engineers find themselves at the heart of some of the world’s most complex problems. Their work impacts many different stakeholders across international lines. Furthermore, engineers have a fundamental duty to serve society. But does the current engineer embrace that complexity and understand the greater context of their work?

The Global Engineering Challenge (GEC) is an event bringing together young engineers, experienced professionals, students, industry representatives and the professional association, to think globally and to share about our impacts, in a half day competition that focuses on the impact of the engineers on society. Teams of 3 to 5 participants, representing an individual company or school will be challenged to think systemically about their industries and the roles they play within them.

Comments are closed

ISF Montréal

Notre Vision

Est de catalyser de profondes innovations systémiques dans l’industrie et la profession du génie, des changements qui assureront que ceux-ci réalisent continuellement leur potentiel d’impact positif sur la société globale. Pour y arriver, nous cherchons à être les facilitateurs de la discussion autour de ce concept : l’Ingénierie globale.

 

Notre Objectif

Est qu’en 2014, Montréal soit reconnu comme chef de file de l’Ingénierie globale au Canada, accueillant le premier Congrès canadien sur l’ingénierie globale – une opportunité pour l’industrie, les associations professionnelles, les universités, les organisations non-gouvernementales, les ingénieurs et les non-ingénieurs pour discuter des innovations systémiques qui changeront ou même changent déjà fondamentalement les façons de faire dans les industries du génie pour améliorer la société globale.

 

Notre Plan

En juin 2012, ISF Montréal a tenu le premier Défi d’ingénierie globale (DIG), une compétition entre différentes équipes d’entreprises et d’universités, visant à développer des prototypes d’innovations systémiques qui permettraient aux ingénieurs d’assurer ou augmenter l’impact positif global de leur industrie. Leurs innovations furent évaluées par des juges provenant de l’industrie, le milieu académique, la politique et l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ). Les résultats furent remarquables : les équipes s’engagèrent dans le défi et trouvèrent des solutions créatives pour faire évoluer leur industrie, alors que les juges, impressionnés, convinrent que des occasions comme le DIG, c’est ce dont l’industrie a besoin.

Cette année, ISF Montréal cherche à faire évoluer le DIG pour le transformer en Congrès provincial sur l’ingénierie globale, en route pour devenir un congrès national en 2014. Pour y arriver, la section se focalisera sur trois priorités stratégiques :

  1. Investir fortement dans la connaissance et les capacités de nos membres les plus engagés, pour en faire des ambassadeurs crédibles de l’ingénierie globale, de la pensée systémique et de notre approche en Afrique;
  2. Bâtir une grande communauté diverse – une masse critique d’ingénieurs et de citoyens globaux, conscientisés, concernés et actifs, nombrant dans les centaines ou les milliers;
  3. Établir une crédibilité avec les industries du génie ainsi que l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec et les engager dans la thématique de l’ingénierie globale.

En complément à ces priorités, ISF Montréal cherchera à initier le Réseau ISF Montréal, un réseau rassemblant les sections montréalaises d’ISF ainsi que toute organisation partageant des valeurs semblables, telles que l’OIQ et, par exemple, les organisations promouvant le commerce équitable, développant l’entreprenariat social ou défendant la justice sociale.


Nos Projets

Défi d’ingénierie globale

15 Juin, 2012, Maison du Développement Durable

Cet événement, organisé pour la toute première fois par la section professionnelle de Montréal d’ISF Canada, était l’occasion pour des ingénieurs de diverses provenances de démontrer comment ils pouvaient développer des solutions innovatrices aux enjeux auxquels notre société est confrontée. En réfléchissant à la position de l’ingénieur au sein de systèmes complexes, plusieurs équipes ont montré le rôle crucial que notre profession peut jouer dans la transformation des systèmes et de leurs impacts au niveau global.

Cet événement n’est que le tout début d’un long processus de la création d’un espace qu’ISF veut offrir aux ingénieurs afin qu’ils puissent activement s’engager dans une réflexion sur leur rôle et l’impact des systèmes dans lesquels ils doivent opérer. Nous croyons que les ingénieurs possèdent des aptitudes, tel la capacité d’analyse et de résolution de problèmes, qui les inclinent à trouver des solutions pragmatiques lorsque confrontés à des problèmes complexes.  La contribution de notre profession aux enjeux globaux est, selon nous, nécessaire et inestimable. Pour ce faire nous devrons aller au-delà des frontières techniques.

 

La Course contre la pauvreté

 Dimance, 21 Octobre, 2012, avec le Tour des 3 sommets Brébeuf

La Course contre la pauvreté est une équipe de coureurs compatissants s’unissant pour une cause – mettre fin à la pauvreté extrême en Afrique. Depuis 2006, des coureurs de partout au Canada ont couru ensemble pour sensibiliser les gens à la pauvreté extrême, et soutenir les efforts d’Ingénieurs Sans Frontières (ISF) en Afrique.

La Course contre la pauvreté fournit aux membres de son équipe l’opportunité de s’entraîner, d’apprendre et de courir ensemble dans le cadre de courses locales importantes. Grâce à des ateliers d’entraînement et des courses en groupe à chaque semaine, les débutants peuvent s’établir une base tandis que les coureurs plus avancés peuvent s’améliorer et viser plus haut!

L’équipe de la Course contre la pauvreté se démarque par le fait que chaque événement est associé avec des courses dans des communautés en voie de développement en Afrique, où ISF travaille fort pour améliorer les conditions de vie locales et effectuer un changement positif. Grâce à ce lien, les Canadiens peuvent mieux s’informer sur le développement international ainsi que sur les gens qui sont touchés par des organisations telles qu’ISF (Canada). En sensibilisant la population par le biais de courses locales importantes, et en touchant les gens durant nos campagnes de levée de fonds, nous espérons établir un plus grand soutien pour les initiatives de développement international canadiennes.

La course contre la Pauvreté était encore un grand succès cette année, avec plus de 70 coureurs et plus de 15 000$ levées pour Ingénieurs Sans Frontières. Un grand merci a notre photographe pour l’évenement Pablo Herrera Cruz et sa compagnie de photographie Rikchak.

Les commentaires sont clos.